Skip Top Navigation
image: Click here to return to the Yuba County home page.
image: Yuba County scenery

County Recorder

Terry A. Hansen

915 8th St., Suite 107, Marysville, CA 95901

 

Phone: (530) 749-7850

Fax: (530) 749-7854

Email: recorder@co.yuba.ca.us

Office Hours:  8:00 a.m. - 5:00  p.m.

Recording Hours:  8:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.




 

Frequently Asked Questions

 

What are the basic recording requirements

Will the Recorder's Office help me prepare my document

What happens to my document after it is recorded

What is documentary transfer tax

How do I find out what has been recorded on a particular property

How do I find out if a lien has been filed against my property

 


 

What are the basic recording requirements?
   

Signatures - Original signatures are required except as otherwise provided by law.  A certified copy is also acceptable.  G.C. 27201(c)

 

Acknowledgment - Documents affecting title to real property must be properly acknowledged.  A California notary public taking an acknowledgement in California will use the California all-purpose acknowledgement. C.C. 1188 & C.C. 1189

 

Legibility - Documents presented for recording must be sufficiently legible to reproduce a readable photographic copy.  This includes notary seals and any attachments or exhibits. G.C. 27361.7

 

Page Size - A page is defined as one printed side of a single piece of paper measuring 8 1/2" x 11".

 

Sheet Size - A sheet is defined as one printed side of a single piece of paper that is not exactly 8 1/2" x 11", but is no larger than 8 1/2" x 14". G.C. 27361.5

 

Page Margins - All documents submitted for recording must have at least a 1/2" margin along each vertical side.  In addition, the top 2 1/2 " of the first page or sheet must be reserved for recording information.  The left 3 1/2" of this space is used to show the name of the party requesting the recording and where to mail the document after it is recorded.  G.C. 27361.6.

 

Cover Page - If the first page of the document does not have the required space for the recording information, a separate page or cover sheet must be attached to the front of the document.  This cover sheet must show the name of the party requesting the recording, where to mail the document after it is recorded and the title or titles of the document.  Recording fees will be charged for this page.

 

Document Titles - The title or titles should appear on the first page below the space reserved for the Recorder.  When a document contains more than one title to be indexed, the recording fee will increase $14.00 for each additional title to be indexed. G.C. 27324 & 27361.1

 

Recording Reference Number - Any document that modifies, releases, or cancels the provisions of a previously recorded document must contain the recording reference number of that prior document. G.C. 27361.6

 

Basic Recording Fees - All recording fees are due at the time of recording.  Basic recording fees are $14.00 for the 1st page and $3.00 for each additional page.  G.C. 27361.  For a complete list of our fees, please see our fee schedule.  (Fee Schedule)

 

Recording Fee for Non-Conforming Documents - If any part of a document does not measure 8 1/2" x 11" an additional non-conforming fee of $3.00 will be charged for each page of the document.  G.C. 27361  For a complete list of our fees, please see our fee schedule. (Fee Schedule)

(back to top)

 

Will the Recorder's Office help me prepare my document?
   

The Recorder's Office is prohibited by law from providing you with legal advise.  We can only provide you with the recording requirements for a particular document.  We recommend that you contact a legal adviser to assist you in preparing your document.

(back to top)

 

What happens to my document after it is recorded?
   

The Recorder's Office is required to make a permanent record of all documents.  All documents are scanned into the computer system for viewing.  Copies are also stored on microfilm for archival purposes.  Once the images on the computer and microfilm have been checked for accuracy the originals are returned to the requestor in approximately 2 weeks.

(back to top)

 

What is documentary transfer tax?
   

California Revenue and Taxation Code 11911 allows each county to impose a documentary transfer tax on realty transferred when the consideration or value of the property is greater than $100.00.  Transfer tax is calculated at the rate of $0.55 per $500.00 of property value.  It is due at the time of recording unless a valid exemption under the Revenue and Taxation Code is provided.

(back to top)

 

How do I find out what has been recorded on a particular property?
   

Our staff is unable to conduct record searches; however, our research area is open to the public from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday (legal holidays excluded).  Our grantor/grantee index is an index by name.  We also provide a free web search.  (Recorded Document Search)

(back to top)

 

How do I find out if a lien has been filed against my property?
   

You will need to search our records under your name to find out if a lien has been placed against you or if a recorded lien has been released.  The Recorder's Office cannot remove any liens placed against you.  To have a lien removed; you will need to contact the party who recorded the lien.

(back to top)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


Clerk-Recorder • 915 8th. St., Suite 107, Marysville, CA 95901 • (530) 749-7850 • Fax: (530) 749-7854

 

©2009 County of Yuba, CA