Search: Print Text-Only

http://library.yuba.org

 

Young Adult & Teens Recommended Links

WEB 2.0 Got a few weeks with nothing to do? Have a peek at WEB 2.0, boredom is a thing of the past.

Ain’t It Cool News, http://www.aintitcool.com Film, television, and comic book industries.

AllMovie.com, http://www.allmovie.com Movies, their directors, stars, and connections.

AllMusic.com, http://www.allmusic.com All types of music. Exhaustive and comprehensive.

Blog Carnival, http://blogcarnival.com/bc round-up of blog posts on a particular topic.

The Book of Zines, http://www.zinebook.com Find out everything you need to know about zines (self-published magazines).

BuzzFeed, http://www.buzzfeed.com jumping-off point for trendspotters everywhere.

Chasing Ray, http://www.chasingray.com literary blog with interviews and reviews.

ESPN Sports, http://espn.go.com This vast, comprehensive sports website incorporates text, podcasts, and video. Some coverage in Spanish.

ICv2.com, http://www.icv2.com Anime and Manga, Graphic Novels, Comics; Games, Movie/TV Toys

IGN.com, http://www.ign.com Find games and reviews of games, along with cheat codes and walkthroughs.

Internet Movie Database, http://www.imdb.com This site is more famous than AllMovie.com, but more basic.

Lifehacker, http://www.lifehacker.com One of the 14 blogs, broad range of niche interests. http://www.lifehacker.com/software/macgyver/macgyver-tip—smooth-a-scratched-dvd-with-pledge-190634.php)!

LISNews: Library and Information Science News, http://lisnews.org Get library news from around the world. Helps you keep on top of what is going on with libraries, both good and bad.

Newsarama.com, http://www.newsarama.com “Daily comic book news, previews, reviews and commentary.”

No Flying, No Tights (NFNT), http://www.noflyingnotights.com Robin Brenner’s masterful, comprehensive comics and graphic novels review site, written by and for collection development librarians, is notable not only for the quality of its reviews, but also for its division into three audience-specific subdomains: NFNT is for teens, the Lair is for teens and adults, and Sidekicks is for kids.

Pitchfork Media, http://www.pitchforkmedia.com This is indie rock review central.

Pop Candy, http://blogs.usatoday.com/popcandy Pop culture’s “hip and hidden treasures” for USAToday.com.

Premiere, http://www.premiere.com Strictly an online news source for movie news, including information about films in production and DVD reviews.

Rotten Tomatoes, http://www.rottentomatoes.com Premier destination for both casual moviegoers and film buffs alike

So You’d Like To … Guides by Amazon.com Music Editors, http://www.amazon.com/gp/richpub/syltguides/byauthor/AJM38DLD0P3H8/ref=cm_pdp_sylt_seeAll/002-9650225-7084037 Amazon.com’s clever, appealing, and well-informed mix of commercialism and social networking.

Ypulse, http://www.ypulse.com youth culture

Giant Robot, http://www.giantrobot.com guide to Asian-American culture

Magnet, http://www.magnetmagazine.com covering musicians whose work is rarely covered by mainstream magazines.

Metal Edge, http://www.metaledgemag.com heavy metal and hard rock

Mojo, http://www.mojo4music.com British music magazine

People, http://www.people.com gossip magazine for people who don’t want to admit they are reading gossip.

Rolling Stone, http://www.rollingstone.com  in-depth articles on politics, the environment beyond the music business.

Shojo Beat, http://www.shojobeat.com  focus primarily on humorous, romantic stories. Shojo Beat covers not only manga, but also trends in publishing, fashion, and culture.

Shonen Jump, http://www.shonenjump.com stories are often more action-based than shojo manga.

SPIN, http://www.spin.com  covers pop music.

Us Weekly, http://www.usmagazine.com offers dishy tabloid news.

VIBE, http://www.vibe.com  covers urban music and culture.

MySpace, http://www.myspace.com

Facebook, http://www.facebook.com

Google Blog Search, http://blogsearch.google.com
Sample using California "high school" technology "social networking" as search terms

Blogger http://www.blogger.com  Create your own FREE BLOG.

LiveJournal http://www.livejournal.com Create your own FREE online journal.

PostSecret, http://postsecret.blogspot.com

Cute Overload, http://www.cuteoverload.com

YouTube, http://www.youtube.com

del.icio.us, http://del.icio.us Tagging's mother of invention.

Bloglines, http://www.bloglines.com  Aggregator Rss Feed Reader

Google Reader, http://www.google.com/reader/view  Aggregator Rss Feed Reader

Wikipedia, http://en.wikipedia.org

Teen Advisory Groups  http://wikis.ala.org/yalsa/index.php/Links_to_TAGS_sites

Google Sites, http://sites.google.com Create your own FREE WEBSITE.

PBWiki, http://pbwiki.com  Create your own FREE WIKI.

New Blogger Tag Cloud, http://phy3blog.googlepages.com/Beta-Blogger-Label-Cloud.html

SnapShirts, http://www.snapshirts.com Get a FREE web cloud of your blog.

Photobucket, http://www.photobucket.com

Delicious tags for teens San Mateo Public Library

Delicious Tagging, http://delicious.com/tag/

LibraryThing, http://www.librarything.com

Shelfari, http://www.shelfari.com

Goodreads, http://www.goodreads.com

Hennepin County Library Teen Page, http://www.hclib.org/teens/

Podcast.com, http://www.podcast.com

Odeo, http://odeo.com

NPR Podcast Directory, http://www.npr.org/rss/podcast/podcast_directory.php

Audacity, http://audacity.sourceforge.net

PodOmatic, http://www.podomatic.com

Ning, http://www.ning.com

Free Comic Book Day, http://www.freecomicbookday.com

Official Super Bowl Website, http://www.superbowl.com

YALSA Booklists and Book Awards, http://www.ala.org/yalsa/booklists

Chinese Cultural Center of San Francisco, Celebration of the Chinese New Year, http://www.c-c-c.org/chineseculture/festival/newyear/newyear.html

Information on the Chinese New Year, Government Information Office, Republic of China (Taiwan), http://www.gio.gov.tw/info/festival_c/spring_e/spring.htm

IMDb Movie Festivals and Events Worldwide, http://www.imdb.com/festivals

Sundance Institute, http://www2.sundance.org

Film Movement, http://www.filmmovement.com

Infoplease.com’s Movie Awards, http://www.infoplease.com/ipa/A0777584.html

Infoplease.com’s Music Awards list, http://www.infoplease.com/ipa/A0777597.html

LANParty.com’s Small LANParty Network Setup, http://www.lanparty.com/theguide/network.shtm

LANParty.com’s So You Wanna Host a LANParty?, http://www.lanparty.com/theguide/hostingaparty.shtm

Roger Hart’s Ladder of Young People’s Participation, http://www.freechild.org/ladder.htm

YALSA American Library Association, http://www.ala.org/ala/yalsa/ 

CafePress.com, http://www.cafepress.com

You Grow Girl, http://www.yougrowgirl.com

North American Butterfly Association (NABA), http://www.naba.org

Internet Movie Database (IMDb), http://www.imdb.com

TV.com, http://www.tv.com

NPR: Gay Pop Music: Three Albums Reflect the Rise of Gay Civil Rights, http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=1306240

PFLAG: Parents, Families and Friends of Lesbians and Gays, http://www.pflag.org

GLSEN: The Gay, Lesbian and Straight Education Network, http://www.glsen.org

COLAGE: Children of Lesbians and Gays Everywhere, http://www.colage.org

Mock Trial Scripts, http://www.classbrain.com/artteensm/publish/cat_index_11.shtml

Comic-Con International, San Diego, http://www.comic-con.org

ComicBookConventions.com’s Conventions Calendar, http://www.comicbookconventions.com/conventions.htm

Learn in Freedom!, http://learninfreedom.org

U.S. Department of Education—Getting Ready for College Early, http://www.ed.gov/pubs/GettingReadyCollegeEarly/index.html

Rakhi: The Thread of Love, http://hinduism.about.com/library/weekly/aa080800a.htm

Wikipedia—Rakhi (Raksha Bhandan), http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Raksha_Bhandan

HistoryCooks.com, http://www.historycooks.com

DPL Teen Service Blog—Fear Factor, http://dplteenservices.blogspot.com/2007/07/35-brave-souls-showed-up-for-fear.html

Epicurious—Macaroni and Cheese recipes, http://tinyurl.com/y4xz9w

U.S Department of State—Muslim Life in America, http://usinfo.state.gov/products/pubs/muslimlife

New York Times, “A Mexican Feast for Bodies and Souls,” http://www.nytimes.com/2004/10/27/dining/27DEAD.html

Arizona Republic, Día de los Muertos (Day of the Dead), http://www.azcentral.com/ent/dead

Arizona Republic, Día de los Muertos (Day of the Dead), Teacher Packet, http://www.azcentral.com/ent/dead/teachers/teacherpacket_edited.pdf

Sugar Skull Making Instructions, http://www.mexicansugarskull.com/mexicansugarskull/recipe.htm

Sugar Skull Molds & Supplies, http://www.mexicansugarskull.com/mexicansugarskull/sugarskullmolds.htm

Library of Congress on Flickr—1930s–40s in color photoset, http://www.flickr.com/photos/library_of_congress/sets/72157603671370361/ 

Interfaith Calendar, http://www.interfaithcalendar.org

also try our Librarian Recommended Links from our Reference Links:

NEW! 100 Top Library Sites

 Tutorials for Budding Librarians (6/4/08)

NEW! Free Computer Tutorials (2/6/09)

MapDango (2/14/2008)

Webrary (2004)

Bartleby Great Books Online (2004)

Free Translation (2004)

Educators' Reference Desk (2004)

Hyperdictionary (2004)

 Reference and Search Tool Links Digital Book Index(2005)

Online Library by Dewey Decimal Numbers (2005)

Word Searchable Literature Online (includes Bible & Shakespeare) (2005)

Search Strategy: Keys (2005)

Searching Simplified (2005)

California Digital Images (2006)

Website Disclaimer