Skip Top Navigation
image: Click here to return to the Yuba County home page.
image: Rolling hills in Yuba County

County Clerk

Terry A. Hansen

915 8th St., Suite 107, Marysville, CA 95901

 

Phone: (530) 749-7851

Fax: (530) 749-7854

Email: clerk@co.yuba.ca.us

Office Hours:  8:00 a.m. - 5:00  p.m.




MARRIAGE

 

NEW:  Online Marriage Application

You can now complete the application for a public or confidential marriage license online. Once you have submitted your information both parties must appear in the County Clerk's Office with valid photo identification.  See below or additional information about obtaining a marriage license.

 

Frequently Asked Questions

 

When can I get married at the Yuba County Clerk's Office?   

Marriage ceremonies can be performed without an appointment between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 12:00 p.m. and again between 2:00 p.m. and 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday.  Due to the time necessary to complete a marriage license we suggest you arrive prior to 4:30.

 

Can I come in any time and get a marriage license?

Marriage licenses are issued between 8:00 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday. 

 

Do I need a blood test?

No, California does not require a blood test.

 

Do I have to be a California resident to marry in California?

No, you do not need to be a California resident to marry.

 

Is there a waiting period between the time the license is issued and when I can get married?

No, you can be married any time within 90 days after obtaining a license.

 

What is the fee for a marriage ceremony?

The fee for a civil marriage ceremony is $40.  If you are unable to provide a witness and one must be provided for you there is a  $20 fee for the witness. We recommend making an appointment if you will need our office to provide a witness as there are times when we do not have the staff available to provide this service.

 

Does Yuba County permit private citizens to be deputized to perform civil marriage ceremonies? 

Not at this time.

 


 

 

Public Marriage License Information

    • Minimum Age: 18 years.  Persons under 18 years of age require permission from a California Superior Court
    • Both marriage license applicants must appear at the same time in the County Clerk's office with valid government issued photo ID. (Individuals who do not have valid photo ID may use a credible witness affidavit.  Contact the County Clerk for additional information.)
    • A public marriage license is valid for 90 days and requires the ceremony to be performed in California
    • If either party has been previously married or a member of a State Registered Domestic Partnership (SRDP) with someone other than the co-applicant and the previous marriage/SRDP ended within the previous 90 days a copy of the document ending the marriage/SRDP must be provided.  i.e. Divorce decree, death certificate, termination of SRDP
    • One witness is required to be present at the time the ceremony is performed
    • Certified copies of a public marriage certificate may be purchased after the license has been registered. There is a separate fee for each certified copy. 

 

Fees:

- Public Marriage License - $65

- Civil Marriage Ceremony - $40

- Civil Marriage Ceremony Witness: $20

- Credible Witness Affidavit: $5 each (two required)

- Certified Copy - $15 for requests received

 

Application for Public Marriage License IMPORTANT: Read the information regarding the Name Equality Act of 2007 on the 2nd page of the application.

Name Equality Act of 2007.   Additional information from the California Department of Public Health regarding the Name Equality Act of 2007.

 

 


 

 

Confidential Marriage License Information

    • Minimum Age: 18 years.  Minors may not purchase a confidential marriage license
    • Both marriage license applicants must appear at the same time in the County Clerk's office with valid government issued photo ID. (Individuals who do not have valid photo ID may use a credible witness affidavit.  Contact the County Clerk for additional information.)
    • A confidential marriage license is valid for 90 days and requires the ceremony to be performed in the county where it was issued. Beginning January 1, 2015 the ceremony may be performed anywhere in California.
    • No witnesses are required to be present at the time the ceremony is performed
    • If either party has been previously married or a member of a State Registered Domestic Partnership (SRDP) with someone other than the co-applicant and the previous marriage/SRDP ended within the previous 90 days a copy of the document ending the marriage/SRDP must be provided.  i.e. Divorce decree, death certificate, termination of SRDP
    • Applicants for a confidential marriage license must sign a statement attesting to the fact they have been living together as spouses.
    • Certified copies of a confidential marriage certificate may be purchased only by either party of the marriage after the license has been registered. There is a separate fee for each certified copy. 

 

Fees:

- Confidential Marriage License - $70

- Civil Marriage Ceremony - $40

- Credible Witness Affidavit: $5 each (two required)

- Certified Copy - $15 

 

Application for Confidential Marriage License   IMPORTANT: Read the information regarding the Name Equality Act of 2007 on the 2nd page of the application.

Name Equality Act of 2007.   Additional information from the California Department of Public Health regarding the Name Equality Act of 2007.

 

NOTE: Contact the County Clerk's office for information if one party is incarcerated or unable to appear due to hospitalization.

 

 


 

 

Certified Copies

As of January 1, 2010, ONLY individuals who are authorized by Health and Safety Code Section 103526 can obtain a Certified Copy of a Public Marriage Record.  All others may receive a Certified Informational Copy which will be marked, “Informational, Not a Valid Document to Establish Identity.”  Certified copies of confidential marriage certificates are only available to the parties of the confidential marriage.  Informational copies are not available for confidential marriage certificates.  

 

Application for Certified Copy of Marriage License

 

AUTHORIZED RECIPIENTS: PUBLIC MARRIAGE RECORD

    • The registrant (one of the parties to the marriage)

    • A parent, legal guardian, child, grandparent, grandchild, sibling, spouse, or domestic partner of the registrant

    • A party entitled to receive the record as a result of a court order (include a certified copy of the court order with this request)

    • A member of a law enforcement agency or a representative of another governmental agency, as provided by law, who is conducting official business

    • An attorney representing the registrant or the registrant’s estate, or any person or agency empowered by statute or appointed by a court to act on behalf of the registrant or the registrant’s estate (if by power of attorney, include a copy of the power of attorney with this request).

 

AUTHORIZED RECIPIENTS: CONFIDENTIAL MARRIAGE RECORD

    • A party entitled to receive the record as a result of a court order (include a certified copy of the court order with this request)

    • One of the parties to the confidential marriage

 

 

 


County Clerk/ Recorder • 915 8th St. Suite 107, Marysville, CA 95901 • (530)749-7851 • Fax: (530)749-7854

 

©2009 County of Yuba, CA