FICTITIOUS BUSINESS NAME STATEMENT
Who is Required to File
Every person who regularly transacts business in this
state for profit under a fictitious business name must file. Non
profit corporations or associations or charitable organizations do not
need to file.
Fictitious Business Name vs Business License
Filing a Fictitious Business Name Statement
Be certain the information in the statement is correct
and complete before filing it. You cannot make changes to the
statement once it has been filed. Any changes require the
filing of a new statement, payment of the filing fees, and
Filing a Fictitious Business Name Statement does NOT
reserve the name for your exclusive use. The filing is for consumer
protection and a requirement under Business & Professions Code Section
The County Clerk's Office cannot refuse to file a
Fictitious Business Name Statement because the name is already being
If there is a conflict between business owners using
the same or similar names, it becomes a legal matter between the
The residence address must be listed
for each registrant. Post Office Boxes are not acceptable.
NOTE: If the registrant is a corporation,
the State of Incorporation must be listed.
All information contained in the statement is a public
record, including residence addresses. Anyone can purchase copies
of the statement.
All original filings as well as new filings with a
change in the facts from the previous filing must be published. The
statement must be published in the Appeal Democrat, once per week for
four consecutive weeks. The first publication must begin within
thirty days of the date the statement was filed in the County Clerk's
The statement is valid for five years from the date
it is filed, unless there is a a change in any information (except the
registered owners address). A change requires a new statement be
filed within 40 days of the change. The new statement must also be
Fee: $30 for the first business name and registrant;
$5 for each additional business name or registrant.
Methods of Doing Business
The County Clerk and Deputy Clerk's
are prohibited from providing legal advice or assistance (Government
code Sections 24004 and 68082). The following information is taken
from Black's Law Dictionary, Revised Fourth Edition, (except for the
definition of an Unincorporated Association which is taken from
California Business and Professions Code Section 6857. It is not
intended to provide exact legal definitions under California law or to
replace the need to consult an attorney.